1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer
Please excuse our appearance while we renovate in 2017

Call into the studio: 347-215-7771

jtemplate.ru - free extensions Joomla
Log in  \/ 
Register  \/ 

Tuesday, 25 April 2017 03:43

Jimmie Johnson Wins Rain-Delayed Food City 500

Written by 
Jimmie Johnson Wins Rain-Delayed Food City 500 Courtesy Adam Niemeyer

Johnson's 82nd career victory moves him to within one of NASCAR Hall of Famer Cale Yarborough.

Jimmie Johnson won the rain-delayed Food City 500 from Bristol Motor Speedway on Monday afternoon.

Johnson took the lead late in the race, and led the final 21 laps on his way to victory lane for the second-straight race weekend.  Johnson said he was happy his car handled well late and that he didn’t have to fight anyone for the lead in the closing laps.

“I was happy to get away at the end and not have to worry about Clint [Bowyer] or anybody else behind me,” Johnson said.  “Our cars have been very capable of running up front, and it’s been nice these last two weeks to execute from the start of the race.”

Leading up to the race, Bristol Motor Speedway staff sprayed a sticky substance known as VHT on the bottom lane of the track to add grip.  The track staff wanted the track to return to the “old Bristol,” with single-file racing with drivers using their bumpers to move one another out of the way. 

Johnson said the racing was fun, and that the VHT helped the bottom lane compete with the top line.

“There were so many competitive passes and so much racing going on over the course of the event,” Johnson said.  “I think the bulk of the race they did a nice job with the VHT on the bottom…second line finally came in and a very exciting race.”

Kyle Larson led a race-high 202 laps, but a speeding penalty late in the race caused him to restart in the back of the pack.  Larson was able to recover to finish sixth, but said he was disappointed he cost himself a shot at the victory.

“I knew I gave the race away there,” Larson said.  “Disappointed in myself.  I was surprised I was able to line up with an opportunity there at the end.”

“I think even if I was able to get to the lead, I don’t think I would have won because Jimmie and Clint were way faster than I was.”

Unofficial results:

1. Jimmie Johnson

2. Clint Bowyer

3. Kevin Harvick

4. Matt Kenseth

5. Joey Logano

6. Kyle Larson

7. Chase Elliott

8. Martin Truex Jr.

9. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

10. Denny Hamlin

11. Trevor Bayne

12. Jamie McMurray

13. Austin Dillon

14. Ryan Newman

15. Ty Dillon

16. Paul Menard

17. Erik Jones

18. Daniel Suarez

19. Matt DiBenedetto

20. Kasey Kahne

21. Cole Whitt

22. Aric Almirola

23. David Ragan

24. Corey LaJoie

25. Kurt Busch

26. Michael McDowell

27. Jeffrey Earnhardt

28. Reed Sorenson

29. Gray Gaulding

30. AJ Allmendinger

31. Derrike Cope

32. Landon Cassill

33. Ryan Blaney

34. Brad Keselowski

35. Kyle Busch

36. Danica Patrick

37. Timmy Hill

38. Dale Earnhardt Jr.

39. Chris Buescher

Bryan Nicodemus

My name is Bryan Nicodemus.  I'm from Pittsburgh, PA, and I am currently a sophomore at Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania.  I am majoring in Public Relations, and I hope to work in NASCAR someday.  Follow me on Twitter: @mmarkaholic55


Search - Categories
Search CLNS
Search - Content
Search - Newsfeeds
Search - Weblinks

Get Social