1. Skip to Menu
  2. Skip to Content
  3. Skip to Footer
Please excuse our appearance while we renovate in 2017

Call into the studio: 347-215-7771

jtemplate.ru - free extensions Joomla
Log in  \/ 
Register  \/ 

Monday, 21 November 2016 01:04

Jimmie Johnson Wins at Homestead to Win 7th Championship

Written by 
Jimmie Johnson Wins at Homestead to Win 7th Championship Sean Gardner (Getty Images)

Johnson now stands beside Dale Earnhardt and Richard Petty with seven Sprint Cup Championships.

Jimmie Johnson won his record-tying seventh Sprint Cup Series Championship on Sunday by winning the Ford 400 from Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Johnson had to start last after his team was sent to the back for unapproved body modifications prior to the green flag.  Johnson avoided a late-race accident to move to the front, and he held off Kyle Larson and fellow Chase driver Joey Logano to win the race and the championship.

“I didn’t think the race was unfolding for us like we needed to be the champs,” Johnson said.  “Some luck came our way and we were able to win the race and win the championship.”

Johnson said he didn’t think he would be able to win after running behind Logano, Busch and Carl Edwards most of the day, but that he was able to stay calm all day and was strong when it counted.

“I had this crazy calmness over myself all day long and leading into this,” Johnson said.  “Even with us running fifth, and the championship not looking like it was going to be there, I just felt something.”

Johnson is now tied with NASCAR Hall of Famers Dale Earnhardt and Richard Petty with seven Sprint Cup Series championships.  Johnson said the record was something special to be a part of.

“It’s big…number seven has a special place in my heart,” Johnson said. 

Rick Hendrick, Johnson’s team owner, said he was excited to see one of his drivers stand among NASCAR’s elite.

“To see him tie Richard and Dale…it’s unbelievable,” Hendrick said.  “To do it through all these different formats has been so special.”

Unofficial results:

1. Jimmie Johnson

2. Kyle Larson

3. Kevin Harvick

4. Joey Logano

5. Jamie McMurray

6. Kyle Busch

7. Matt Kenseth

8. AJ Allmendinger

9. Denny Hamlin

10. Michael McDowell

11. Chase Elliott

12. Austin Dillon

13. Kurt Busch

14. Paul Menard

15. Brian Scott

16. Alex Bowman

17. Greg Biffle

18. Casey Mears

19. Danica Patrick

20. Trevor Bayne

21. Landon Cassill

22. Tony Stewart

23. Clint Bowyer

24. Chris Buescher

25. Ryan Newman

26. Ryan Blaney

27. Matt DiBenedetto

28. Michael Annett

29. David Ragan

30. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

31. Jeffrey Earnhardt

32. Reed Sorenson

33. Ty Dillon

34. Carl Edwards

35. Brad Keselowski

36. Martin Truex Jr.

37. Kasey Kahne

38. Regan Smith

39. Dylan Lupton

40. Aric Almirola

Bryan Nicodemus

My name is Bryan Nicodemus.  I'm from Pittsburgh, PA, and I am currently a sophomore at Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania.  I am majoring in Public Relations, and I hope to work in NASCAR someday.  Follow me on Twitter: @mmarkaholic55


Search - Categories
Search CLNS
Search - Content
Search - Newsfeeds
Search - Weblinks

Get Social